ECWO 2016

Previous championship in Utrecht, the Netherlands.

20 May

May 21, 2016

Tivoli Vredenburg Utrecht

the Netherlands

Get your tickets

20 May

May 21, 2016

Tivoli Vredenburg Utrecht

the Netherlands

Get tickets

Official program

Final Results

1st - Koninklijke Harmonie van Thorn - 96,25

2nd - Concertband Maasmechelen - 95,02

3rd - Christiania Blåseensemble - 93,3

4th - Landesblasorchester Baden-Württemberg - 93,15

5th - The Danish Concert Band - 92,95

6th - Civica Filarmonica di Lugano - 90,92

7th - Jazeps Medins Riga Music S S S Wind Band - 88,88

8th - Eynsford Concert Band - 86,8

Special Prizes

Best soloist performance was won by the English Horn from The Danish Concert Band (DK)

Best sectional performance was won by the horns from Civica Filarmonica di Lugano (CH)

Best performance of the test piece was won by Koninklijke Harmonie van Thorn.

Most original concert programme was won by Koninklijke Harmonie van Thorn.

Adjudicators: Irene Anda (N), Simone Rebello (UK) and Jan van der Roos (B), with independent non-voting chairman of the jury Jan van den Eijnden (NL).


Test Piece

Cerebral Vortex by Øyvind Moe.

This composition was written by Øyvind Moe. He composed this for Musikkforeningen Nidarholm for their participation in the World Music Contest in Kerkrade (2009, NL). The composition is published by Norsk Noteservice.

The title refers to a form of writer’s block caused not by lack of ideas, but rather by the inability to channel and give form to the madness swirling inside the head of someone with a great desire to express something. In this respect, the piece can be said to be a composer’s exercise in keeping focus. A limited amount of material is repeated and treated creating a development that always has a solid anchor point. This is emphasized by the return to the opening theme towards the end.

Moe’s musical background lies in the bands of his home town of Bergen, Norway. He studied composition at the Norwegian Academy of Music, where his teachers included Bjørn Kruse, Henrik Hellstenius, Lasse Thoresen, Asbjørn Schaathun, and Olav Anton Thommesen. He also studied musicology and music technology at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU), as well as software development at the Bergen University College. As a performer, he has many years of experience playing the saxophone in several of Norway’s leading amateur wind orchestras. Moe was present at the ECWO contest 2016.

Running order

Session 1 - (09h00)

  1. Christiania Blåseensemble Oslo (N)
  2. Eynsford Concert Band (UK)
  3. The Danish Concert Band (DK)

Session 2 - (15h00)

  1. Jazeps Medins Riga Music Secondary School’s Symphonic Wind Band (LV)
  2. Koninklijke Harmonie van Thorn (NL)
  3. Landesblasorchester Baden-Württemberg (D)
  4. Civica Filarmonica di Lugano (CH)
  5. Concertband Maasmechelen (B)

Practical information

Check out the programme of 2016.

Thanks to our sponsor Buffet Crampon
Main and exclusive partner for wind instruments

No items found.